JUICE FAST: Day 5 (ish)

Hmm… how do I start this…hmm… anyone remember this girl?

gretchen

Yes, that’s  right it’s Gretchen Weiner’s cracking. She cracked.

JUST LIKE I DID TODAY. Ugh. Gutted. That was me at 5pm today. I ate a sweet potato fritter and it was the best thing in the world.

***Rewind***

So I woke up this morning in really high spirits, had a juice and got ready for what I thought may be a 6 1/2 hour shift. Boy was I wrong.

It was so busy and there were drinks to serve/plates to clear/food to run and we were all up to our eyeballs. I was tired and had bought 2 juices into work with me which I believe is where the problem lies…

One of these ‘horridious’ juices (that’s right I made a word up) consisted  of only the most foul combination in the world; carrot, spinach and kale. Now, don’t get me wrong, I used to love these vegetables (emphasis on the used) but this tasted like a warped Sunday roast in green putrid form and I was having none of it.

The second juice consisted of only oranges, which wouldn’t seem so bad normally, but I didn’t have time to juice it properly so it was in orange globules… in a moment of crisis I had to make a grand decision and I thought to myself ‘No no. I will not starve today. This has gone too far.’

I had no idea how long it would take me to close that evening (turned out to be an extra 1 1/2 hours than I originally thought) so I went into the kitchen and scoffed the nearest thing I could find, which turned out to be a lovely little sweet potato fritter. Je ne regrette rien. (Also it was on a staff food plate, I didn’t just hook it out the bin. Even though I probably would have. If there was no other option. Oh dear.)

So, in hindsight, I should have made something tastier for lunch and not winged some rotten concoction that tasted like pond water. However, after the first 3 days of juicing I felt a million times better and I did sort of question ‘why should I continue if I’d reached the goal already?’… or maybe that’s besides the point. Who knows.

One thing I will say, is it’s bloody hard. You’d need the strength of the God’s to see a whole 10 days through and even though I only did 4 and a bit (lets call it 4.8) days, I’m pretty impressed with myself. I think I will probably substitute a meal for a juice sometimes because it does make you feel really great, just not all the time! You definitely don’t realise how much you love food until you do it. (Seriously, I reckon food makes my world go round, screw money.) Also, I would say pick a time to do it when there’s not much going on, juicing can make it hard to do everyday things, especially in the first 3 days when you seem to go through some bizarre existential crisis.

Leave a comment if you have any questions guys! Danke danke.

 

Leave a Reply

